Celebrate Highland 2011: A Holiday Home Tour

Revel in the holiday spirit with Celebrate Highland: A Holiday Home Tour, December 10-11, 2011, in Shreveport’s Highland neighborhood.

The festive event will kick off with a candlelight tour on Saturday, December 10 from 5pm-9pm. The tour will begin at the Meadows Museum, located at 2911 Centenary Blvd, and will feature complimentary wine and cheese, musical entertainment, and mini-bus transportation to the tour homes. Sunday’s afternoon tour will be from 1pm-5pm and will begin at C & C Electric and Lighting, located at 2430 Line Ave. The tour will feature complimentary coffee, refreshments, live holiday music, and trolley transportation to the tour homes. Driving maps are available for those who wish to drive themselves on the tour; click on the following links to view driving maps for Saturday night and Sunday afternoon.

Tickets are $20 per day and will be sold at the starting point of each tour (the Meadows on Saturday and C & C Electric on Sunday). Two-day package deals are available in advance for a money-saving $35. Advance tickets will be $15 a day for HRA members who have paid their dues in 2011.

Celebrate Highland is presented by the Highland Restoration Association, ISA/Stewart Insurance Associates, Inc., Robin Ramsey, Realtor, and the Shreveport-Bossier Convention and Tourist Bureau.


***Note: 839 Robinson Place will not be on tour this year because of a death in the family. Our condolences go out to the family during this difficult time.

Meadows Museum, 2911 Centenary Boulevard– Established in 1975 at Centenary College of Louisiana, the Meadows Museum of Art was built on the 150th anniversary of the college to house the Jean Despujois collection of paintings and drawings of Indochina. Today, the museum hosts exhibitions throughout the calendar year, introducing the Shreveport area to local, national and international art and artists. As the Saturday night staging site for the 2011 Candlelight Tour of Historic Homes, guests are invited to explore the museum’s galleries, listen to music, sample holiday beverages and treats, and shop for gifts as they view works currently on display in the museum. Complimentary gift wrapping is available in the museum’s upstairs studio. Pose for a commemorative holiday photo outside while waiting for complimentary mini-buses that will transport you to the rest of our lovely holiday homes on tour. Feel free to park in the Centenary lot across the street. Security will be present.

1311 Line Avenue– Studio 1311, owned by Scarlett and Jefferson Hendricks. This former commercial building is now the home of “Photography by Scarlett.” For the past several years, Scarlett has been dreaming about her own studio space—and finally found it. Constructed in 1931, this building served as the home for Paris Cleaners and Dyers until 1939 and from then until 1969 for White’s Cleaners and Dyers. From the early 1970s to 2010 it was used variously for storage and as a workroom for several pinball and video game repair companies. After buying the building in the fall of 2010, Scarlett has renovated it into a multi-purpose photographer’s space. She has left it as much as possible in its raw, post-industrial, exposed-brick-and-concrete condition—but adding to it her own special creative touches. Scarlett is particularly excited about opening her new photography studio and gallery during the building’s 80th birthday year! Tour guests can enjoy an acoustic guitarist, playing holiday music, while exploring the downstairs of Scarlett’s new studio.

1053 Boulevard Street- Classical Revival Cottage, owned by Jeff and Andrea Everson. This Classical Revival Cottage was built in 1911 by timber man, Robert B. Goode, whose family owned it until 1949. It features a side facing gable roof with two segmented pediment gabled dormers and a center segmented pediment portico supported by Ionic columns, original windows in the sunroom and living room, original hardwood floors and interior stucco walls. This house had reached a state of great disrepair following a fire in the 2000’s and was saved from demolition by former Councilman Monty Walford. After a thorough restoration by James Davis, it became the home of current Shreveport City Councilman Jeff Everson, his wife Dr. Andrea Master Everson, their four dogs and a child on the way any day now. Look for 1053 Boulevard in the upcoming TV series, “Ghostbreakers!”

2524 Fairfield Avenue– 2524 Fairfield Avenue, Barret Place. One of the Fairfield Historic District’s showcase homes, this house was built in 1908 by Lt. Governor Thomas Charles Barret on property purchased by his father in 1866. The home was acquired by Mr. and Mrs. William M. Barret in 1938. The current home owner has put his own unique touches on the décor.

822 Kirby Place– Owned by Blake Lee. Built in 1914 by the Arnold family, this beautiful American Foursquare is a true architectural gem that sits on a double lot in the Historic Fairfield District. The Randleman family made this their home for many hears until 2009 when the current owner, Blake Lee, bought it and restored it with attention to keeping its original charm with today’s modern amenities. This home has only 3 owners on record. Complete with a double-sided staircase, original claw foot tub and amazing wood-working throughout. The tall ceilings and hardwood floors are indicative of the era of the home.

 2745 Fairfield Avenue- Pine Wold, owned by Tom Giles and Sherry Kerr. Pine Wold, as the stately old mansion was originally named, was constructed in 1903 by the Thomas Jones family, but its present appearance dates largely from its reconstruction in 1919 by the James P. Evans family. The original Pine Wold was designed by notable local architect Edward F. Neild, Sr. when he was largely unknown, but later Neild went on to be the supervising architect for renovations to the White House during the Truman administration. The home’s style is Mediterranean Revival with Roman Revival elements. Note the carved window cornices and the pergola-style canopies at both the front and rear entrances. The wide front terrace adds a welcoming feel to the home. One of the most interesting aspects of Pine Wold’s history is its location on the former wintering grounds for the “Mighty Haag Circus.” Ernest Haag, circus founder, was one of those young men who actually did run away from home to join the circus and ended up in Shreveport. The Mighty Haag Circus toured the country for 40 years, but the animals wintered in Shreveport. A favorite pastime around the turn of the Twentieth Century for many Shreveporters was to take the street car down Thornhill Avenue to view Haag’s exotic animals. You, too, can enjoy the ambiance of Pine Wold’s spacious grounds as you sip a glass of complimentary wine served in the home’s carriage house, listen to holiday music and look for ghostly reminders of elephants, giraffes, camels, leopards and monkeys.


C & C Electric and Lighting Co, 2430 Line Avenue– C and C Electric and Lighting, owned by Wayne and Gale Simmons. C and C Electric, founded in 1946 by the Camus family, is currently owned by Wayne and Gale Simmons and housed in a 1950’s building where Wayne and Gale carry on many of the traditions of the original owners. The business specializes in restoration of lamps and chandeliers, but in addition to old and new lighting, C and C Electric’s show room features antique furniture and other unique items. Enjoy refreshments and live holiday music as you purchase tour tickets, browse the showroom and wait for the trolley to transport you to lovely historic homes filled with the warmth of the holiday season.

820 Prospect Street- Owned by Wayne and Gale Simmons. Located next door to C and C Electric, this bungalow was constructed in the late 1920’s and has been home to several families. Wayne and Gale purchased the home from a special lady, Ms. Barbour. The Simmons have remodeled the home, turning it into a showroom for C and C Electric and Lighting that features cottage furniture and lighting. The home can also be used for neighborhood gatherings, but today you are invited to visit this bungalow all decked out for the holidays.

536 Jordan Street– Owned by Tom and Elizabeth Arceneaux. This charming craftsman-style house was built in the early 1900’s and has been in only two families since 1910. Elizabeth Montgomery Arceneaux was born and raised in the home. Her parents, Luther and Dewanna Montgomery, bought the home in 1948, raised three children, Brooks, Elizabeth and Dewanna, there, and lived in the home the rest of their lives. Elizabeth and her husband Tom restored the house and moved there in 2009. Elizabeth, an interior designer, took up the challenge to design the house with the look and feel of an early 20th century home, but with the conveniences and upgrades of a 21st century home. One example of this was to return some of the historical features, which included the wrap-around screened front porch where carolers will welcome tour goers during the Sunday tour. Much of the original floor plan and architecture of the house remains untouched with the exception of the kitchen area and one closet. The front entry of the home has beautiful diamond shaped pane windows along each side of the original solid oak entry door. The Arceneaux’s Christmas tree stands just inside the foyer, in front of the rich aged heart pine wood staircase to the upstairs. Stunning heart pine wood floors throughout the downstairs of the home, the simple yet elegant alabaster glass entry light fixture, original to the house, and 10’ double pocket doors show off the simple, but elegant style of the workmanship of years gone by.

2120 Highland Avenue– Owned by Barbara Ramsey. This modified foursquare was built in 1919 and owned by H. L. Carter who was the Vice President at the time of Carter Brothers Realty. He owned the property until 1921 when B’Nai Zion congregation bought it, and Rabbi Abram Brill lived here. Sometime in the 1980’s the house was sub-divided into two apartments, a practice now prohibited in most instances within the Historic Districts. Barbara and her husband purchased the home in 1992 after it had been vacant and neglected for some years. As part of their extensive remodeling, they converted the house back to a single family dwelling. After 6 years of major repairs, the home began to show its original charm and character. The wrap-around front porch was replaced by a smaller brick porch and a chimney removed in order to enlarge the kitchen. Originally the house had 3 bedrooms and 3 sleeping porches. The Ramseys converted these rooms into 4 bedrooms with two sleeping porches, a laundry room and upstairs porch. All the woodwork in the home is original. The home has its original Arkansas Pine floors throughout. Barbara’s grandchildren visit her frequently and enjoy the spaciousness of the home. This house is one example of a fixer-upper, available in Highland to those willing and able to do the work necessary to capture the essence of a by-gone era.

323 Washington Street– Owned by Katherine Brandl. This Camel-back Bungalow was built around 1940, and Katherine is believed to be the third owner of the home. Bungalows were typically built between the World Wars as more ornate Victorian style architecture changed to smaller, simpler bungalow style meant to aid the “housewife,” with its layout of more functional space and fewer individual rooms to maintain. There are many indications that the original floor plan of this particular home has changed over the years as various renovations have occurred. Katherine has eclectic tastes, but has tried to choose furnishings that recall the craftsman heritage of the home. Note the bold color palette used throughout the house. Don’t miss the second floor master suite, with its unusual wall treatment in the master bath! Katherine’s friends and colleagues look forward to the annual Christmas party Katherine hosts, and this year tour goers also get to enjoy a bungalow holiday.

2525 Fairfield Avenue- Norton Home, Owned by Russell and Susanna Van Norman. In 1921 Richard W. Norton built this lovely Georgian style home, designed by Edward F. Neild who was the lead architect on the Harry S. Truman Library and Museum, as well as White House renovations during the Truman administration. The home has a unique freestanding curved staircase, and beautiful plaster mill work adorns the walls and ceilings throughout the downstairs. The chandeliers, sconces and fans are all original to the home. The Van Normans are the third family to own this home and proud to share its beauty. The downstairs of this beautiful home will be open to the public, and carolers will entertain guests as they admire the architectural details of this home.

2439 Fairfield Avenue– Owned by Jimmy Harris. Come enjoy the magic and whimsy of the holiday season at 2439 Fairfield, “A Bed and Breakfast.” This circa 1905 Queen Anne Victorian home is transformed with the beauty and splendor of the holiday season. Hundreds of angels abound and protect the entryway and over 300 nutcrackers are on alert and are guarding over the drawing room. The sparkling Christmas tree glimmers and shines with hundreds of crystal icicles and 98 strands of lights that dazzle the senses. The Dickens Village fills up the bay window located in the dining room, complete with Santa and his workshop. Come capture the Christmas spirit! Current owner, Jimmy Harris, is only the second owner of this marvelous home, having purchased it in 1988 and lovingly and painstakingly restored its inner workings and turned it into a period bed-and-breakfast. His daughter was born the same day that the 99-year-old original owner, Irene Ratcliff, died—which was, coincidentally, also her birthday.

For more information, contact HRA at 318-221-7629 or [email protected]